L’Oreal Oleo Therapy Review

OCT* This is not a sponsored post. *

If you have colored/dyed your hair or styled it before, which I am sure most of us have, then you need to read this.  I discovered L’Oreal Oleo Therapy about a month ago and fell in love!

In case you are a new follower (which most of you are) or do not know me personally, my hair became super damaged in mid-January after I became a hair model for someone.  I was to get an ombre balayange, it’s a more natural take on the regular ombre.  Let’s just say that this type of coloring was not meant for people with hair like mine – super thick and somewhat coarse (thanks, grey hair!).  After about a week of looking at this ugliness, I took to YouTube for some reviews on repairing hair masks; lo and behold, everyone was talking about L’Oreal’s Oleo Therapy.  Seriously, this stuff is heaven in a container!

LOREAL

First things first, the smell of this is absolutely amazing!  It’s a mix between citrus and coconut, does that make sense?  It makes my shower/bathroom smell so good.  The consistency is nice and thick, making it easy to coat my hair.

  • After shampooing my hair with Head & Shoulders and Green Tree shampoo (I have bad dandruff, ugh), I swapped out my Green Tree conditioner for this baby.  This Oleo Therapy does 100x better conditioning my hair than the Green Tree stuff so I stopped using it (sorry, not sorry).
  • I split my hair in two sections, top and bottom.  The bottom is a much bigger section because it is not as damaged.  I coat it pretty well and then do the top.  I split the top section in half, left and right, and coat those almost twice as much as I used on the bottom… seriously, y’all, that balayange destroyed my hair!  I let the mask sit about three to five minutes, depending on how long it takes to wash my face, body, and shave (if needed – ladies, I know y’all feel me on this one), then rinse like I normally would with conditioner.
  • Please note that I only wash my hair twice a week.  This product is not made to use everyday, obviously.  Even before my hair was ruined done, I washed my hair two to three times a week, that is just personal preference.  If you had as much hair as I do, you’d do the same thing.  I also only style my hair once a week, if that, most of the time it’s just up in a ponytail or bun… thank you, Houston humidity!
  • As you can see in the picture, I still have a lot of product left.  This week I started coating more product on the top layer of my hair so it may start going a lot faster than it has been.

I have been using Oleo Therapy for about a month now and I can see some changes, especially on the bottom layer.  It’s so silky.  The top half is not as smooth as I’d like it to be, especially on my right side (thanks, super long bangs/layer in front), but it is a vast improvement compared to a month ago.

I am getting my hair redone and trimmed cut May 1 and still plan on using the Oleo Therapy as I do now.  If y’all are interested, I will do an updated review on the product a few months after that.

What products have you found useful to help repair your damaged hair?  Are there any products you would recommend to someone that are absolute must haves?

Signature

5 thoughts on “L’Oreal Oleo Therapy Review

    1. Tiffani,

      I highly suggest going to Wal-Mart for this product. I got it for $3.98 compared to double that at other beauty supply and other stores.

      Like

  1. I’ve seen this in the store, but didn’t think of buying it.. Now I maybe change my mind 🙂 And I am definitely interested in your updated review on this 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

