Summertime Makeup Must-haves: Date Night Edition

Summertime Makeup Must-haves

Happy Fri-yay, y’all!  Today I am kicking off a new “blog series,” if you will.  This month’s theme is summertime and within the month, I will feature different topics such as Makeup Must-haves, To Dos/Bucket List, and Vacations/Getaways.

To kick things off, I have thought of a few ways to discuss different summer makeup; however, I have decided to categorize/blog by occasion.  Today, it’s all about the fun and hot summer date nights, so let’s get started!

Before you even think about slapping even the slightest bit of makeup on your pretty little face, you need to moisturize and prime!  I am currently using the e.l.f. Studio Mineral Face Primer and it is so lightweight and soft; although, it does have a weird scent to it but I guess it’s something I have grown accustom to now.

Since it is starting to get a little warmer outside, and if you reside in Houston, Texas, you know hot and humid are two totally different things and yet we suffer through them at the same time (ugh), so having a full-coverage “heavy” foundation is just not going to cut it during this triple digit days and 80+ degree nights.  If you feel like you must wear a foundation, I suggest going with what I am currently using, Maybelline’s Fit Me Dewy Smooth Foundation; however, if you plan on spending most of your date outdoors – avoid this foundation.  It may just be my skin, but I feel like it “runs off my face” when I am outside too long.  If foundation isn’t your thing, or most of your date will be outside, go with a tinted moisturizer (e.l.f.).  I currently do not use one, but I might start using it soon because it is starting to get pretty darn hot out there.  DISCLAIMER: Please do your research on any foundation and/or moisturizers due to the fact that I am no expert and the only thing I know about makeup is from reviews and tutorials I see online.

Next, the eyes – my favorite!  When researching for this post, I came across numerous sites that all mentioned the same thing for eyes.  Cream shadows.  Personally, I have never used cream shadows before, but it makes perfect sense as to why you should be using them!  Using these cream shadows in a sheer, shimmery neutral color – like champagne – would be super pretty on a summer night.  e.l.f. has this great eyeshadow palette that offers a little bit of everything.  Ulta offers a variety of shades in cream eyeshadows as well.

Another tip to add to the eyes would be going with a waterproof mascara, only if your date will be mostly outdoors.  If you’re just going to dinner and a movie, or something along the lines of indoor activities, stick to your normal makeup products.

I hope y’all enjoyed this Makeup Must-haves post!  Tune in next week for a summertime bucket list and other ideas to conquer boredom.

Signature

3 thoughts on “Summertime Makeup Must-haves: Date Night Edition

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

