I Hope You Dance (BookLook Bloggers Review)

_225_350_Book.1620.cover

If you’re anything like me, you love to read. When I started college, I read for fun a little during my first semester but after that, I did not have much time to read for fun due to homework and a job.  Now that I have graduated, I am enjoying my free time to read whatever I want.  Two weeks ago, I came across BookLook Bloggers – the perfect place for bloggers who love to read to receive free books in exchange for a review.

While awaiting a hardcopy book to review (which is quite irritating having to wait over two weeks), I searched for an e-book I could read.  There were many to choose from, but I personally love the romance genre (not the trashy romance, I read two of the three Fifty Shades just for the love story… honest).  This site is great because it is through HarperCollins Christian Publishing and there is no “trash” involved. SCORE!

The book I chose to review is I Hope You Dance by Robin Lee Hatcher.  It’s an easy read novella of 145 pages, not too shabby at all.  The story is so sweet, but I feel like it was a bit rushed, but don’t let that stop you from reading it. Grant Nichols looks and talks like a cowboy but he sure can’t dance like one (what a shame).  When he was asked to be a groomsman in a friends wedding, Grant had to take dance lessons from a girl in town – Skye Foster, a rodeo queen.

The chemistry between the two made me happy inside and seemed legitimate; however, as mentioned before, the story is a bit rushed.  I enjoyed that for 100+ pages, the couple was taking it slow to get to know each other, etc. and then 20 or so pages before the book is over, Grant makes his love known and proposes to Skye.  I feel maybe if this book was an actual novel, it would have been better for the story as for Grant and Skye to get to know each other and their families on a deeper level before diving into such a commitment. Maybe because I’m not much of a believe on real-life fairytales?

This book was very sweet and endearing.  I wanted to keep reading on what happened next!  Guess I need to move on to book two of the A Year of Weddings novellas!

Signature

Leave a Reply

