Picky Eater-Friendly Chili

Picky EaterFriendlyChili

Good morning, everyone!

Happy Friday and an even happier New Year to each and every one of you!  I hope you all have enjoyed your holiday festivities and are starting to prepare to go back to your “normal routines.”  I don’t know about you, but I am not ready to go back to work.  Having almost two weeks of paid holiday time off was simply amazing (“‘The Perks of Working in Higher Education’ for $100, Alex”).

Here in Houston, we are now experiencing some cooler temperatures.  With the cooler weather, holidays, and family gatherings brings some amazing “hot food” recipe pins on Pinterest.  Earlier in the week, I wanted to cook something other than a pasta dish or chicken.  Being the extremely picky eater I am, 90% of the entrees featured on Pinterest are not exactly my cup of tea (hence why my recipe board is mostly desserts).  However, for some reason I wanted to try something new and different.  Chili.

Most people, at least here in the South, love their chili hot and spicy.  Thanks to my momma eating jalapeños by the bowl-full  when I was in the womb, I cannot stand much of anything that is spicy.  The recipe I came across seemed to be picky eater-friendly and not extremely spicy.  I was actually excited to try this… whaaaaat?  I did tweak the recipe a little bit because I anticipated to make only half of what the original recipe was calling for, but I ended up using most of the ingredients to the full amount.  Not to toot my own horn… my tweaked recipe is the bomb-dot-com, but if you want to stick to the original recipe, I understand and don’t blame you.  If you have a big enough crockpot, go for it!  Below is my tweaked recipe, you can find the original here.

Picky Eater-Friendly Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • 1 15oz can of tomato sauce
  • 2-ish tablespoons of tomato paste (I used about ½ of a 6oz can)
  • ¼ cup of water
  • 1 can of black beans, drained
  • 1 can of pinto beans, drained
  • ⅛ teaspoon of Zatarain’s cayenne pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon of sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon of oregano
  • ¼ teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • ¾ teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons of chili powder

Directions:

  • Brown and drain the ground beef
  • Pour ground beef into the crockpot
  • Add the rest of the ingredients on top
  • Turn crockpot on high for 3-4 hours, then to warm about an hour before you plan to eat

Chili

Leave a Reply

